A Complete Guide To The Danganronpa Timeline

When Danganronpa first released, it stuck strictly to telling its story through a visual novel format. As it grew in popularity though, this changed as the series started to move into other pieces of media to tell its story. This included light novels that serve as the series prequel, an anime that wrapped up the first two-game timelines, and a spin-off series about Byakuya Togami that may or may not be canon.

To help you sort out the timeline, the guide below puts everything in chronological order so that you can ensure you haven’t missed any key moments.

The Danganronpa Timeline

Below is all of the media in the correct chronological order. If you have not played the series yet, it’s highly recommended you play Trigger Happy Havoc and Danganronpa 2 before diving into the rest of the franchise.

Danganronpa Kirigiri – Light Novel

Kirigiri is a light novel that has only been released in Japan. It follows Kirigiri as she investigates a case before attending Hope’s Peak Academy.

Danganronpa Zero – Light Novel

Danganronpa Zero is another Japan-only light novel, but this time if follows Junko during one of her first experiments. This light novel happens during the Despair Arc anime, after the 78th class massacre.

Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak High School Despair Arc – Anime

This is the prequel anime that details the events of how Junko rose to power, corrupted Hajime, and the fall of class 77-B.

Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc – Visual Novel

Trigger Happy Havoc was the first piece of media released and showed the first killing game featuring class 78.

Danganronpa Another Episode: Ultra Despair Girls – Third-Person Shooter

Ultra Despair Girls takes place between the first two visual novels and follows Komaru Naegi and Genocide Jack as they try to survive in Towa City.

Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair – Visual Novel

Danganronpa 2 continues the killing game with another class, but this time it’s all set on an island. This game follows Hajime Hinata, Nagito Komeda, and Chiaki.

Danganronpa Gaiden: Killer Killer – Manga

Killer Killer is Japan-only mange that details the events of the murders that targeted serial killers. The manga focuses on members of the Future Foundation and Misaki Asano.

Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak High School Future – Anime

This ends the Hope’s Peak arc and reveals the fates of all the characters who survived in the games.

Possible Alternate Timelines

After the end of the Hope’s Peak saga, the timeline possibly splits a bit in order to create V3. The Togami visual novel is also currently thought to be an alternate timeline as it is never mentioned as canon information.

Danganronpa: Togami – Light Novel

This light novel follows Togami after the events of Trigger Happy Havoc. This novel is only available in Japanese and none of the feats Togami accomplishes are mentioned in the canon media.

Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony – Visual Novel

Danganronpa V3 is an enigma in many ways and follows another class as they are thrown into a killing game. The game throws a huge curveball into the series, and it’s up for you to determine how you feel about the game’s story when you finish the game. This game should be played after consuming all other media.

Source: Read Full Article